Orchestra della Svizzera italiana




Settimane Musicali Ascona

Aziz Shokakimov conductor
Stephen Waarts violin

Franz Joseph Haydn (1732 – 1809)
Symphony no. 100, “Military” Hob. I:100
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756 – 1791),
Concert for violin and orchestra no. 4 in D major K. 218


Dimitri Šostakovi? (1906 – 1975)
Symphony no. 9 op. 70

A programme of pleasant depth, which provides an account of three different experiences: the peak of the great orchestral maturity of Haydn, a concert for violin by Mozart, crated as an homage to the Italian school of Boccherini, Tartini, and Corelli, afterwards one of Šostakovi?’s symphonies laden with the most humourism and comedic force. The novelty and the Orchestra della Svizzera italiana’s use of the talented Aziz Shokhakimov, who hails from Uzbekistan but has gained recognition all over Europe after having won the international Gustav Mahler competition at just 21 years of age. He is joined by Dutch-American Stephen Waarts, who in 2019 received the International Classic Music Awards from the Luzerner Sinfonieorchester and who this year has planned two important appearances at the Konzerthaus Berlin and the Israel Philharmonic.

Advance sale on www.ticketcorner.ch or at Ascona-Locarno Tourism, tel. 0848 091 091.


  • Music
  • Classical music